Come From Away, Jamie Lloyd & Dear Evan Hansen’s Sam Tutty are all honoured at the Critics’ Circle Awards

11 Feb
Posted in: Theatre News
Author: Staff

So who were the musical theatre winners at one of the best loved events in the theatre awards calendar, the Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards? Step forward the much loved West End production of Come From Away, Most Promising Newcomer Sam Tutty for his Dear Evan Hansen debut and Best Director Jamie Lloyd who was recognised for three of his shows, including Evita at the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre.

The 2019 Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards were held today (11 February 2020) at the Prince of Wales Theatre in London’s West End, hosted by Critics’ Circle Drama Section Chairman Henry Hitchings.

Best Musical was Come From Away, currently running at London’s Phoenix Theatre, while Jamie Lloyd was names Best Director for three productions in the past year – Betrayal at the Harold Pinter Theatre, Evita at the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre and Cyrano de Bergerac at the Playhouse Theatre.

Most Promising Newcomer was Sam Tutty for his West End debut in the title role in Dear Evan Hansen at Noel Coward Theatre.

The ceremony is one of the best loved in the theatre awards calendar with its informal gathering of award recipients, drama critics, theatre practitioners and the media, convivially coming together to celebrate the critics’ personal choice of the best theatre, from throughout the UK, during the last calendar year.

The awards were once again presented in association with long-time headline sponsor Nyman Libson Paul Chartered Accountants, leading entertainment industry specialists. They are also generously supported by Delfont Mackintosh Theatres (now involved for a 16th year).

The event is produced by leading industry figure Terri Paddock. She co-founded and ran from 1997 to 2013, including founding the WhatsOnStage Awards. More recently, Paddock has founded groundbreaking musical theatre social media directory and independent theatre bloggers portal with Mark Shenton.

Full list of Musical Theatre winners

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical

Come From Away, Phoenix

Best Director

Jamie Lloyd for Betrayal at the Harold Pinter Theatre, Evita at the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre and Cyrano de Bergerac at the Playhouse Theatre

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer

Sam Tutty, Dear Evan Hansen, Noel Coward Theatre

The Special Award for Services to Theatre

Paule Constable, theatre’s leading lighting designer