Girl From The North Country gets a cast album

01 Sep
Posted in: Theatre News
Author: Staff
Girl From the North Country releases a cast album this September...

The Old Vic Theatre and Sony Music Entertainment have announced the release of the Official London Cast Recording of GIRL FROM THE NORTH COUNTRY. Featuring lyrics and music by Bob Dylan, the album was recorded at the iconic Abbey Road Studios and will be released this September...

The cast album will be available to buy, download, and stream on 29 September 2017 and is available to pre-order now on Amazon.

GIRL FROM THE NORTH COUNTRY opened at The Old Vic in July to 5-star reviews and runs until 7 October 2017.

Written and directed by Conor McPherson, the show is aptly set in Bob Dylan’s hometown of Duluth, Minnesota. It’s 1934 and a community who are living on a knife-edge soon huddle together in the local guesthouse. The owner, Nick, owes more money than he can ever repay, his wife Elizabeth is losing her mind and their daughter Marianne is carrying a child no-one will account for. And, when a preacher selling bibles and a boxer looking for a comeback show up in the middle of the night, things start to spiral beyond the point of no return.

Brought to life by a 20-piece company of actors and musicians, award-winning playwright Conor McPherson beautifully weaves the iconic songbook of Bob Dylan into this new show full of hope, heartbreak and soul. 

Conor McPherson said:

“I’m so delighted the brilliant talent of our cast will be captured at Abbey Road Studios. It’s been an honour working with them on Bob Dylan's incredible songs. The reaction from audiences every night and the clamour for a recording has been overwhelming and is a true testament to their stunning voices.” 

GIRL FROM THE NORTH COUNTRY features songs from every period of Bob Dylan’s catalogue with new musical arrangements by Simon Hale.

 “A superb cast use Bob’s back catalogue to glorious effect in Conor McPherson’s astonishing cross-section of hope and stoic suffering in Depression-era Minnesota” - The Guardian

“This is not, just to set the record straight, Bob Dylan the Musical. You don’t need to know his songs to fall for this play by Conor McPherson, which includes 20 of them. But if you do know them well, as I do, then there are moments when you can just close your eyes and melt into the night” - The Times

“This is Dylan like we’ve never heard him before, 20 songs sculpted into plaintive but beautiful new arrangements by Simon Hale. Some numbers are familiar, others less so, but nearly all are delivered so hauntingly well by the 20-strong company that they send shivers down the spine as we hear the lyrics afresh” - Evening Standard 

“Henderson’s rendition of “Like a Rolling Stone” is laceratingly lovely, performed with vocal might and moral heft” - The Independent 


1. Sign On The Window

2. Went To See The Gypsy

3. Tight Connection To My Heart

4. Slow Train Coming/License To Kill

5. Ballad Of A Thin Man (Instrumental)

6. I Want You

7. Blind Willie McTell (Instrumental)

8. Like A Rolling Stone/To Make You Feel My Love

9. Like A Rolling Stone (Reprise)/I Want You

10. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere/Jokerman

11. Sweetheart Like You/True Love Tends To Forget

12. Girl From The North Country

13. Hurricane/All Along The Watchtower/Idiot Wind

14. Lay Down Your Weary Tune (Instrumental)

15. Duquesne Whistle/Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)/Is Your Love In Vain?/License To Kill

16. Tight Connection To My Heart (Underscore/Reprise)

17. Lay Lady Lay (Instrumental)/Jokerman (Reprise)/Clair De Lune

18. Forever Young

19. My Back Pages