Groundhog Day, Dreamgirls & School of Rock win at #OlivierAwards

09 Apr
Author: Press Releases

In the play and design categories, Harry Potter & the Cursed Child swept the board with a record nine wins at the 2017 Olivier Awards. In the musical categories, there were double wins for Dreamgirls, Groundhog Day and Andrew Lloyd Webber, but Half a Sixpence and The Girls went home empty-handed...

Check out our dedicated Olivier Awards page for extensive live-tweeting and vlogging of the red carpet arrivals and the ceremony itself - with more videos and photos still to come - as well as all social from the awards, the winners, nominees, the shows and the #OlivierAwards hashtag!

The winners of the Olivier Awards 2017 with Mastercard, the most prestigious event in the UK theatrical calendar, were announced tonight (Sunday 9 April 2017) at London’s Royal Albert Hall. The biggest awards yet, the ceremony was hosted by Jason Manford. This year’s ceremony will be broadcast on ITV on Tuesday 11 April at 8:00pm. Viewers outside the UK will be able to stream the ceremony at the same time via Facebook and YouKu in China.

In the musical categories, Groundhog Day, written by Tim Minchin and Danny Rubin, was named Mastercard Best New Musical. The production, which is currently in previews on Broadway, also received the award for Best Actor in a Musical for Andy Karl’s portrayal of Phil Connors.

Amber Riley, who performed a show-stopping rendition of And I Am Telling You, was named Best Actress in a Musical, while her co-star Adam J Bernard won Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical for Dreamgirls. Rebecca Trehearn won Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical for Show Boat, which transferred to the West End from Sheffield Theatres.

Two shows composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber also received awards, with School Of Rock The Musical winning Outstanding Achievement in Music for the three children’s bands who play instruments live every night at New London Theatre and Jesus Christ Superstar winning Magic Radio Best Musical Revival.

In addtion, Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour, the National Theatre of Scotland production that transfers to the West End next month via the National Theatre, was awarded Best New Comedy.

Olivier Awards 2017 with Mastercard

Best New Comedy

Our Ladies Of Perpetual Succour at National Theatre – Dorfman

Outstanding Achievement in Music

School Of Rock The Musical – Three children’s bands who play instruments live every night at New London Theatre

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical

Adam J Bernard for Dreamgirls at Savoy Theatre

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical

Rebecca Trehearn for Show Boat at New London Theatre

Magic Radio Best Musical Revival

Jesus Christ Superstar at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

Best Actor in a Musical

Andy Karl for Groundhog Day at The Old Vic

Best Actress in a Musical

Amber Riley for Dreamgirls at Savoy Theatre

Mastercard Best New Musical

Groundhog Day at The Old Vic

Performers & presenters

Performers on the night included Gary Barlow & Tim Firth with the company of The Girls and the Women’s Institute Choir, Amber Riley from Dreamgirls, Tim Minchin from his musical Groundhog Day and the companies of School Of Rock The Musical, Jesus Christ Superstar and Matthew Bourne’s production of The Red Shoes. Six-time Tony Award-winner, Audra McDonald, performed exclusively as part of the In Memoriam section.

Presenters this year included David Baddiel, Alfie Boe, John Boyega, Michaela Coel, Leanne Cope, Julian Clary, Robert Fairchild, Ben Forster, Phoebe Fox, Andrew Garfield, Denise Gough, Matt Henry, Ruthie Henshall, Amanda Holden, Rufus Hound, Cush Jumbo, Nathan Lane, Rose Leslie, Maureen Lipman, Danny Mac, Audra McDonald, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Laura Mvula, Paul O’Grady, Tracy-Ann Oberman, Sophie Okonedo, Charlotte Ritchie, Mark Rylance and Russell Tovey.